Labview FIRST impressions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Labview FIRST impressions

As a die hard C/C++ programmer (20 years) I knew it was going to be hard to make the switch but was determined to give it a shot.

Over the summer we did all the tutorials, fooled around with the nxt toolkit, even wrote some apps in LV.

Basically got the hang of it.

Now that I am taking the lead on the Labview testing, I'm really glad we took the time to do all of that. Labview looks simple on the surface and in principle, but you don't really appreciate the breadth and depth of this environment until you actually work with it.

I have been using LV to teach the students now for a couple months and they really take to it.

We used to spend ridiculous amount of time with syntax errors, and little stuff. Now the kids can focus on problem solving, Labview takes care of all of the nasty stuff.

In addition, the new FRC Labview environment has a VERY rich library of routines (as does the C/C++ environment).

Now instead of figuring out how to code encoders, the kids can simply use the encoders to solve/execute a mission.

Kudos to Labview - I'm very impressed and definitely converted.

Looking forward to the new season and all of the new possibilities.

Rick Folea
    Beta Team 1848 - Atlanta (actual team: 1746)

Re: Labview FIRST impressions

Here's another message I've posted elsewhere: