Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hey! from a team beta tester.

Hey.

My name is Phil Malone, and I'm a mentor for Team 1629. GaCo (The Garrett Coalition) was selected to be one of the beta teams, and we've been working hard for the last two weeks, going step by step though the proposed KOP and documentation, finding out what works and what doesn't.

It's been quite a challenge because we started out with very preliminary versions of hardware and software, and we've been finding some old bugs that have already been fixed, and some new ones that will need to be fixed so everyone's not spinning their wheels when the controller becomes generaly available.

My focus has been on getting to the point where we can really start getting to know how LabVIEW works with the new controller. My background is as a C, C++ programmer, so you might wonder why I want to use LabVIEW.

NI might not like me saying this, but to me (as a programmer) C++ is the BMW of languages, but we all know not everyone drives a BMW. Likewise, I think most Engineers and Scientists aren't likely to use C++ on a day-day basis, so it's more likely that when they have to program some equipment or experiment in the future, they may end up using LabVIEW.

So on a purely "quantity" viewpoint it seemed important that I "learn a new trick" and then try to pass on good programming habits to all the potential future Engineers and Scientists out there.

So if you have any generic "2009 controller" questions, or more specific LabVIEW Software questions I'll attempt to answer them for you. What's more likely is that you'll have a question that I'll have to do some experimenttation or research to find an answer for.

If it's a pure LabVIEW question, then you'll probably be better of asking NI support directly, but if it relates to FRC, then give me a try and I'll see what I can do.