Programing in labview?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Programing in labview?

Alright. So I'm fairly new to using labview, and im looking to set up our Logitech ATK3 joystick to send specific commands to our robot to start a motor when pushed or to turn on a motor and stay on on command. If anyone could give me assistance that would be amazing. Thanks.

Re: Programing in labview?

The button states from the joysticks attached to the Driver Station are one of the outputs of the Joystick Get VI. They are output as a cluster which you will want to unbundle using the Unbundle By Name VI to access specific buttons.

To run a motor while a button is held you can use a Select VI to pick a different speed input depending on whether the button is pressed or not. If this isn't what you are trying to do, please add a bit more detail about exactly what you want to do on the Joystick and what you want the motor to do in response and I can try to help further.
    FIRST®
    FRC Robotics Engineer

Comment

Alright. In the long run, I want a button on my joystick to start a motor for our launching system. I want this button to be more of a on and off switch for the motor. The other button i want more of a toggle motor switch for our bridge dropping system. I want to be able to hit this button and start the motor and when i let go of it it turns the motor off. I hope this is helpful in some way.

Comment

The second paragraph in my post above should help with the second case you described. It will run the motor while the button is held and stop when it is released.

I would actually describe your first case as a toggle. When you push the button the motor turns on (and stays on after release). When you push the button again the motor turns off. I usually break this problem down into two steps.