Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to use an optical sensor?

Hello.
    We found a couple of 42EF-D1 MNAK-A2 optical sensors and we're thinking about using one of them to detect when we've crossed a tape marker (zone boundary). I found a site with lots of information (http://www.ab.com/en/epub/catalogs/1...212/print.html), but I'm new to this type of device and still can't tell exactly how to hook this up. It looks like I might need to connect the output to a DigitalInput so that it will either leave the DIO input high or pull it down to ground, but I'm really not sure. Anyone know? Or have a better idea?
    Thanks.
    Jeff

Re: How to use an optical sensor?

You're heading down the right track.There are a few caveats to using a sensor like this with the roboRIO:
    1. The sensor requires t least 10.8V to power it. The 12V rail of a VRM could be used for this.
    2. I didn't track down an exact datasheet for this sensor, but it's possible based on the max leakage current listed that you would need an additional resistor to provide a stronger pull-up than the 40k to 3.3V the roboRIO provides. These sensors are the sensors that were provided in the 2011 KOP and some users seem to be reporting success with them in this thread with no additional resistor so it may be worth testing as is to see if the resistor is necessary or not: http://www.chiefdelphi.com/forums/sh...hreadid=133484

Wiring should be:
    Brown to +12V
    Blue to Ground
    White or Black to roboRIO DIO signal pin

Then use the DigitalInput class in code to read the value.
    FIRST®
    FRC Robotics Engineer

Comment